The Board of Aldermen is the legislative body of the city. Eight aldermen are elected by geographic districts called Wards for two-year terms. There are four Wards and two aldermen are elected from each. The Board of Aldermen approves the city budget and the mill rate, passes ordinances, approves borrowing by the sale of municipal bonds, appoints members of some public boards and has the power to conduct investigations concerning the city and the public interest. The mayor votes in the event of a tie, and in the absence of the mayor the President of the Board of Aldermen may vote twice to break a tie.